CCENT™ (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) Certification

CCNA Certification exam details 

CCNA practice test download 

CCNA practice test order page

Cisco recently announced new CCNA track of exams. According to the new track, one can achieve CCNA in either of two ways:

1. Pass the CCNA exam (exam code:640-802) directly, or

2. Pass two exams, namely ICND1 (exam code: 640-822 ) and ICND2 (exam code: 640-816)

After passing ICND1, you will be awarded CCNT certification. If you are experienced, you can always take single exam (640-802) track.

1. What is CCENT™ (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) Certification?

CCENT Certification is awarded by Cisco Systems® and signifies the competency achieved in installing, configuring, and operating LAN, and simple WAN networks (100 nodes or fewer), including use of these protocols: RIP v1, and RIP v2. The certification exams are computer based, and conducted by VUE testing centers. The certification, being widely recognized, offers improved job prospects in the field of LAN, and WAN infrastructure installation and maintenance using Cisco, and compatible equipment. There are no pre-requisites for taking this exam. The only requirement being payment of exam fee, which is about US$ 125. The CCENT certification is composed of 1 (ONE) individual exam, i.e. ICND1 (short form for Interconnecting Cisco Network Devices). The exam code for the CCENT exam is 640-822. The test contains identification and situational questions, in addition to Flash based simulation questions. We have provided several of these questions at appropriate ccna certification pages on this website.

The exam tests a candidate's knowledge and skills required to successfully install, operate, and troubleshoot a small branch office network. The exam includes topics on networking fundamentals; connecting to a WAN; basic security and wireless concepts; routing and switching fundamentals; the TCP/IP and OSI models; IP addressing; WAN technologies; operating and configuring IOS devices; configuring RIPv2, static and default routing; implementing NAT and DHCP; and configuring simple networks.

2. What are the test requirements?

As mentioned previously, to attain CCENT certification, you must pass only one exam, i.e ICND1, exam code: 640-822. Broadly, the exam objectives are given below:

CCENT exam objectives:

Note that access lists, OSPF, BGP, and Frame-relay are not covered in the exam (ICND1).

The practice tests provided by covers the exam objectives thoroughly, and help in passing the exams first time. You can down load the CCENT practice test here.

3. How do I prepare for CCNA™ Certification?

Please visit the page CCNA preparation written by our Cisco section guide.

4. Other CCENT™ Certification FAQ:

How long will it take to prepare for CCENT certification exam?

If you are preparing for CCENT exams yourself (self learning), it is likely to take about 2-3 months of preparation (Assuming 3-4 hours of study per day). However, please note that the preparation time greatly depends on your background. If you are already involved in the networking technologies such as LANs, WANs, you may find it easy, and may require only a few weeks of preparation. On the other hand, if you are new to networking technologies, it may take about 3 months (assuming you don't take any formal classroom coaching). 

What is the format in which the exams are delivered?

The exams are computer based, and include the following question types:

How long the certification is valid?

The certifications offered by Cisco Systems have limited validity (unlike Comptia exams, which have lifetime validity). The validity of Cisco certifications is usually of 3 years. You need to re-certify or achieve next level of certification to retain validity after 3 years.

What other certifications are available from Cisco Systems?

The other certification available are CCDA, CCNP, CCDP, CCIE, and others.

Note: It is recommended to check with the official website for accurate and up-to-date information.